Electroindustry to Congress: Grid Cybersecurity a Shared Responsibility

Electroindustry to Congress: Grid Cybersecurity a Shared Responsibility

This piece was originally published in the April 2018 issue of electroindustry.

NEMA Vice President of Government Relations Kyle Pitsor testified in front of the Energy and Power Subcommittee of the U.S. House of Representatives Energy and Commerce Committee at a March 14 hearing on improving the cyber- and physical-security of the electrical grid.

“Electroindustry manufacturers have made cybersecurity a top priority. As the manufacturers of essential grid equipment, NEMA Members are a key line of defense against both physical- and cyber-attacks on the electricity transmission and distribution system,” Mr. Pitsor testified. “However, the responsibility for protecting our nation’s electric grid must be shared among the private sector, end users, and government agencies.”NEMA recommended increased public–private collaboration on cybersecurity, possibly including voluntary cybersecurity evaluation of products used in the transmission, distribution, and storage of electricit.

Mr. Pitsor’s testimony highlighted NEMA electrical standards, including NEMA CPSP 1-2015 Supply Chain Best Practices and its companion document, NEMA CPSP 2-2018 Cyber Hygiene, which is scheduled to be published in May. More information is available at www.nema.org/cybersecurity.

The hearing focused on four bills, two of which impact the electroindustry. They are the Cyber Sense Act (HR 5239), which would establish a voluntary program to identify and promote cyber-secure products for use in the bulk-power system, and Enhancing Grid Security through Public-Private Partnerships Act (HR 5240), which would require DOE to provide voluntary physical- and cybersecurity training and technical assistance to utilities; assess DOE cybersecurity priorities, policies, and procedures; and update the Interruption Cost Estimate Calculator.

Both bills are co-sponsored by Congressmen Bob Latta (R-OH) and Jerry McNerney (D-CA), who co-chair the Congressional Grid Innovation Caucus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.